Home / News / NEO Livestock Judging Opens Season with Top-Ten Finish


NEO Livestock Judging Opens Season with Top-Ten Finish

Miami, Oklahoma – Wednesday, September 18, 2019 – The Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) Livestock Judging Team travelled to Austin, Minn., during the first weekend in September to compete in the NSR National Barrow Show. Formed in 1994, the National Swine Registry streamlined services to purebred breeders of Hampshires, Landrace, Durcos, and Yorkshires, which makes about nearly 90% of the U.S. purebred hog population. The annual National Barrow Show was held at the Mower County Fairgrounds and the NEO team claimed eight overall, with Sophomore Mattie Haynes finishing second overall in individual reasons.

Hayes is an Agriculture Business Major from Jay, Okla. The sophomore finished second in reasons, with a total score of 188. Haynes also finished in the top 25 overall. She was joined by Sophomore Tanner Walden, an Animal Science Major from Tonganoxie, Kan. In the team competition, Walden led the team in scoring with 624, followed by Haynes who scored 623, and Sophomore Animal Science Major Sky Hoot, who scored 622 points.

“The contest provided exactly what the team needs at this point in the season; reward for things we’re performing well at and a renewed focus on necessary improvements,” said Head Coach Taylor Graham. “We’ll be working diligently on what needs done, but I’m certainly proud of our work and success this past weekend.”

For more information about NEO livestock judging, contact Graham at taylor.graham10@neo.edu.

Overall Results:

Tanner Walden – 24th

Mattie Haynes – 25th

Sky Hoot – 27th

Ashley Peterson – 39th

Tyler Stedje – 57th

Paige Millard – 73rd

Owen Coon – 80th

Reid Lovorn – 86th

Brandon Fraser (Alternate) – 114th

Emily Norris (Alternate) – 126th


Reasons Results:

Mattie Haynes – 2nd

Sky Hoot – 32nd

Paige Millard – 36th

Tanner Walden – 46th

Tyler Stedje – 67th

Ashley Peterson – 71st

Emily Norris (Alternate) – 80th

Owen Coon – 89th

Reid Lovorn (Alternate) – 121st

Brandon Fraser (Alternate) – 123rd





Share This