Home / News / NEO to Host Annual Homecoming Pageant


NEO to Host Annual Homecoming Pageant

Miami, Okla. – Tuesday, Oct. 1, 2019 ­- Northeastern Oklahoma A&M College (NEO) will host the “How the West Was Won” Royalty Pageant on Thursday, Oct. 3, 2019 at 6:30 p.m. in the NEO Fine Arts Auditorium. Royalty candidates are selected by their peers to represent various clubs and organizations on campus. The goal of the homecoming royalty competition is to build professional and leadership skills among candidates, while also encouraging friendly rivalry between clubs.


Royalty candidates are as follows:

 Agriculture Education Club

Queen – Mattie Haynes | Jay, Okla.

King – Tyler Stedje | Gruver, Texas

Aggie Society

Queen – Georgia Agan | Venedy, Ill.

King – Roy Stovall | Wyandotte, Okla.

Baptist Collegiate Ministry

Queen – Claire Coyne | Miami, Okla.

Center for Academic Success and Advisement

Queen – Sidany Hilburn | Quapaw, Okla.

Collegiate Farm Bureau

Queen – Carly Baumhoer | Hatton, Mo.

Latinos Unidos

Queen – Molly Knox | Tulsa, Okla.

King – Kevin Esquilin | Trujillo Alto, Puerto Rico

Native American Student Association

Queen – Amber Ortner | Grove, Okla.

King – Reagan Alsbaugh | Miami, Okla.

NEO Gold Program

Queen – Rosa Garcia | Baxter Springs, Kan.

NEO Honors Program

Queen – Trinity Pruitt | Fairland, Okla.

King – Nicholas Douglas-Eickhoff | Manhattan, Kan.

NEO Nursing Association

Queen – Trista Crook | Webb City, Mo.

NEO Student Ambassadors

Queen – Mykala Clower | West Fork, Ark..

King – Jose Gonzalez | Commerce, Okla.

Opioid Grant

Queen – Brandi Denefrio | Neosho, Mo.

King – John O’Neal | Lawton, Okla.

Phi Beta Lambda

Queen – Samantha Thompson | Caney, Kan.

King – Gabriel Palos | Chicago, Ill.

Phi Theta Kappa

Queen – Alex Miers | Vinita, Okla..

Resident Life

Queen – Anna Turner | Bentonville, Ark.

King – Caden Hasselbring | Ponca City, Okla.


Queen – Karis Clark | Mustang, Okla.

Student Support Services

Queen – Kimberly Lopez | Tulsa, Okla.

King – Malachi Walton | Lawton, Okla.


King – Colben Dodson | Liberty, Kan.

The pageant is the main aspect of the royalty competition. Contestants also participate in professional development workshops, create Linkedin.com profiles, and more. Mrs. Kathy Fuhs, 1969 NEO Homecoming Queen, will serve as the emcee for this year’s event.

This year’s judges include Mrs. Delaina Brown, 1990 NEO Homecoming Queen; Mr. Tommy Dodson, NEO Development Foundation Board Chair; and Mr. Daniel Hocker, two-time member of the NEO Homecoming Court.

Candidates will dress in formal attire and answer two sets of questions. Candidates will also select the Mr. and Ms. Congeniality winners. A student body popular vote will determine Mr. and Ms. Norse Spirit winners, and the King and Queen winners will be announced during halftime of the homecoming game, on October 5, 2019.


Mr. and Ms. Norse Spirit Candidates:

Student Ambassadors:

Jamal Morris, Vinita, Okla.

Alexis Riley, Grove, Okla.

Christian Student Fellowship

Sammantha Avants, Durant, Okla.

Phi Beta Lambda

Hannah Tweed, Chouteau, Okla.

Logan Hall, Fort Scott, Kan.

Resident Life Council

Caitlin Harris, Colcord, Okla.

Latinos Unidos

Roberto Bravo Jr., Wyandotte, Okla.

Reina Wimp, Claremore, Okla.

The homecoming king and queen will each receive $250 scholarships and the runners-up will each receive $100 scholarships. In addition to the scholarship award, the king and queen will attend various events throughout the year and represent NEO to the local community.

The public is encouraged to attend the NEO “HOMEcoming on the Range” pageant and admission is free. A complete list of homecoming activities and events can be found at www.neo.edu/homecoming





Share This